Some Writing Advice for All


To write is to bleed. to bleed is to die slowly. It’s true if you ask anyone who writes, over the centuries decades and years, each writer who takes the chance that what he writes will be good enough for others to read is bleeding in his own right.

Your emotions and inner feelings hit the text or paper, and you have no choice but to express it fully, so others will fully understand it. Not an easy task for any writer for the language of humans comes in many forms and it has its own dialect for each of us on the planet.It’s all very true if you stop, and listen to all of us in our own voices as we speak, never mind write. How we express ourselves is shown in our letters, blogs, reports, articles and books of all types. We all know too for we are influenced by politics, beliefs, family and friends and the societies we live in.  A good writer though transcends all of it and makes it universally understand by using the words and phrases understood by all races, colors, and nationalities. How do writers do it is always the question, well they are well educated by school, society and daily interactions, and we are affected each day by those around us. Plus as help and crutches, we rely on dictionaries, Strunk and Wagner,  and editors, we pay for or have built into our computers. We reread and reread again and then we, stare at it and try to understand what we ourselves have written and go crazy over the real question, will anyone want to hear it or read it?

If you think what I am saying is wrong or sounds silly, try writing for yourself, see if you can keep the plot, the storyline, the characters and the atmosphere of what you write in line and readable for all. Go ahead you will find it is not as easy as it sounds or seems. I know because I attempt to do it each time I think of a story I want others to know about. How do I tell it, do I use characters, do I just narrate it, or how do I get it across? All questions a writer must ask. I have written mysteries, murder mysteries, childhood stories, help books even newspaper articles in my days, and with each one, a part of my soul enters the writing and a part of me goes with those words on the paper or in the word processor.We bleed when we write, whether you believe it or not as a writer and reader, it’s really true.

I will give a few examples of what I am saying here now.Start with romance stories. take a look at my story, Unattainable Love one day. Read it and you will see the emotions of a young boy and the indecisions he faced over the years regarding one girl in his life. How I reasoned not to ask or approach her with how I felt and why go ahead if you dare. You will find the emotions there, and you will find the reasons too, for each item that happened between the two involved. Yet you also end up disagreeing with the boy in it, for his reasoning is fragmented by the things he was taught growing up. He never reaches the point of full happiness and for that point, neither, does the girl. So the regrets stay with them both as their lives go on.

Maybe you would rather look at other ones I did like Unwanted, or Children Center Years, or Wails of an Attention Deficit and Hyper-Active Child. In each, there is a lesson for the child involved, but there is also true emotions and mistakes by the misunderstanding adults involved Each part of these stories drains some emotion from not only the characters but from me as the writer and how I personally feel on the subject. It needs to be there to make the story work. You can’t feel sympathy for the child or adult involved without me bleeding some onto the paper or processor. I hope that makes sense to you all. Use the emotions you feel, writers, put them into the story by way of the characters and you will be better understood by the readers.

Leave a Reply

