Peace/Cancer/Poems


      Peace comes to the world when certain people or figureheads are killed or destroyed and all mourn that person. Here in America it was that way with our assassinated Presidents and Politicians over the centuries we have been a nation. When Our very first President died the country mourned, when Jefferson died, Adams, Franklin, Hancock, and many of our founding fathers. Then as time went on others became just as important to the nations as leaders and Presidents. Their deaths shocked the nation, Jackson, Garfield, Grant, but none more than the ones killed in office by men, who shot them down.

       Abraham Lincoln led this country through the hardest war in it’s history, The Civil War. He bore the pain and suffering of the nation’s people killing one another over slavery and differences. yet one crazy lone man, took a derringer and shot him dead watching a play. Sadly. Lincoln’s follower wasn’t as good as him in office but the nation did recover.

       John F. Kennedy a President that was elected by popular margins and barely beat out his foe, Richard Nixon, shot dead by a lone nut again or a conspiracy, it makes no difference doe sit, great people die young, and he was a revolutionary person in many ways, buy especially in civil rights.  How many more must die for the nation to realize, we need to get along, white, black, hispanic, oriental, or whatever. It is not the color of our skins that make us, it is the fact we are human, we eat, drink, sleep and live on the same planet, and  we all die and bleed for the country we believe in if we have to. Interesting yes. for it matters not to the world what color or race you are, if you are American, you are American.

       Other deaths occurred that shouldn’t have too, Robert F. Kennedy. Martin Luther King Jr. dead by nuts for no reason.  Again dreams were shot down, and leaders killed, for what? It doesn’t stop the inevitable does it folks, if anything more leaders step up and attempt to fill the roles necessary and time marches on. Time can not be fought, progress can not be stopped, for the only  one that can mess with time is indeed mother nature and that my friends is the longest relationship in the world period. Lets reach peace and see if the world can just for one day, resolve all problems and hate, and just live in peace for all.

         Cancer my friends, knows no favorites, cares about no color, no race, no religious belief,nationality, or location, it just hits and kills in the millions each day. I know I am one of the victims of this disease, handed down to me through generations of cancer victims who died. I struggle each day with the idea I have it and i hope each day i can overcome it and stick around awhile longer, I am only 57, and that is young. Time will march on though no matter what, I know this for sure.

      I wrote poems for myself and for my step-father’s death too. I shall post them here for all to read today, I hope they will bring some joy to the world and make all think of peace.

       

Why Must the Days End?

                                                By William  

 

 

           Why do the days have to end?

           Why do the nights have to come?

            The Darkness rolls in,

           Night reminding me,

           Of, my past, my sin.

 

 

           I didn’t know what you wanted or needed,

           You refused to say,

           So now I wonder and think,

           All night and through the day.

 

          I go thru life, a statement reverberating in my mind,

          It’s one I carry with me,

          And shall for all time.

 

          My father, laid dying on his bed you see,

          And these are the words he said to me:

          My son he said my days have come and gone,

          I shall leave you before for long.

 

          But live you life to the fullest and enjoy,

          Do today what you love the most,

          Enjoy life to the fullest, and love those around you the deepest,

          For though I be gone and you may cry,

          Please remember these words, I give you to keep and hold.

          Live your life with honesty and truth,

          Be happy, be true, be honest and be bold.

 

          As I leave you now he said:

          I shall be gone and you will cry,

          But remember this is not really goodbye.

 

          We are all put here for a purpose, yes a plan.

          When we fulfill that purpose our time has come,

           And our life is done, and I am just a man.

 

           The days will pass, the weeks will come and go,

           The weeks, will turn to months, the months to years,

           And over time,  you will, have cried all of your tears.

           But live your life for each day you are here,

           For the calendar will continue to roll,

           Time will pass before you know,

          

            In the end my son,

            We all eventually do what we have been put here for,

             And our time is done.

 

            Then he rolled his head, in his bed,

            The vomit came, his eyes rolled back in his head,

            And peacefully, and in silence he was dead.

 

            I remember that day oh so well,

            I remember the fishing trips, the pizzas, the laughter and the tears,

            And have carried his words, with me and lived them for all my years.

        The second poem:

          

If I Die

        By: William M. McCurrach   

 

            If I die tomorrow and my life does end,

            Who would show at my funeral my friend?

            Would they come from my youth, the days when I ran free,

           A boy in the woods, enchanted you see?

           I doubt that they would even remember me!

         Would they come from my Elementary School days,

         Ah even if I wish to know some,

        I doubt it is what I say!

 

       Would they come from the days I roamed high school hall?,

       Carving and writing names on walls, long lost loves and

       Male friends, and all.

      I doubt it you see for I didn’t play ball!

 

        Would they come from my teenage years, when my hormones raged?

         And I had no fears?

         I doubt they would remember me after all these years!

 

         So if I die tomorrow who would come?

         To see a man who always had to run?

        Would my ex-wives show up, or my kids,

        I do not know, for I am a lone wolf and that is my soul.

 

       So as my blood pressure rages, and my nerves get blocked, my heart starts to clog and my life starts

       To Stop,   Tell me Lord who will be there to mourn me when I drop!

        Thanks for reading my blogs and thoughts for today!

 

 

               

       

Leave a Reply

